Image by Charles DeLoye


Butte County Sustainable Communities Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements

• Applicant must be a high school senior graduating from a public school in Butte County*
• Applicant must have a GPA of 3.5 or better
• Applicant must be accepted to and plan to attend a University of California (UC), California State University (CSU), or California community college
• Applicant must have an area of study related to city and regional planning, urban studies, social studies, sustainable transportation planning, housing, public health, climate change, environmental studies, or a related field of study

Must Provide

• Two letters of reference
• Personal Statement: The essay must be typed, double –spaced and signed/dated by the applicant. Write an essay outlining your education or career goals (400-500 words in length)

Scholarship Rules and Information

• Awardees must be enrolled full-time (12 units or more) in an accredited college or university. The scholarship must be used during the year immediately following the awarding of the scholarship.
• The scholarship committee will make awards based on eligibility, the essay, letters of recommendation, extra-curricular activities, and volunteer or work experience
• Two $500 scholarships will be awarded annually

* This includes Biggs High School, Chico High School, Durham High School, Esperanza High School (continuation), Fair View High School (continuation), Gridley High School, Las Plumas High School, Oroville High School, Paradise High School, Paradise eLearning Academy, Pleasant Valley High School, Prospect High School (continuation), or Ridgeview High School (continuation)

Please use these instructions to learn how to apply to scholarships through the NVCF Scholarship Portal.

When you are ready, click below to enter the NVCF Scholarship Portal.

​​Call us

(530) 891-1150

Find us

The Foundation Building

1811 Concord Ave., Ste. 220

Chico, CA 95928

Office hours

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Follow us​


©2020 North Valley Community Foundation - a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization, EIN 68-0161455. All rights reserved.

*Office temporarily closed

  to the public 

*Office temporarily closed

  to the public

Icons made by Freepik from